Networking Questions

hey all, sorry to keep cluttering the boards with remedial questions but can't seem to find simple answers or the fact I find things that say it can't be done.

OK, I originally set up a WIN/MDK network to watch movies on my laptop kept on an external HD attached to my desktop, worked great since you can share entire drives in windows.

I'd like to do the same with both machines booted to MDK...I can share the home directories on both machines with NFS, and that works fine but I can't share drives....I have 2 external drives that I would like to share but get the "you can only share files in your home directory error"....I'm pretty sure there has to be a way to do this...or am I wrong?

what is giving this error? if its linux make a link to the folder and make that origianl folders permisions

readable by your user..

example.. I have my home folder with SAMBA share to my windows box (running in vmware .. but still a network connection)

I have onoly my homw folder shared.. but I wanted windows ot have access to my usb flash drive. so I made a folder for my flash drive called /mnt/flash (inventive is it not :) ) then I did a chown username /mnt/flash/

I then did a ln -s /mnt/flash/ ~ (note ~ tells the shell to put it in your home folder don't replace ~ with your home folder teh shell knows what it means.. )

this made a link to the folder /mnt/flash to show up in my home folder and is now accessable by windows..

NFS would work the same way.. but how are you mounting NFS ni windows with services for Unix or

Hi iccaros,

If I share the drive in windows (box1), it shows up in (box2) as a folder created by lineighborhood (ex. /home/tictoc5150/mnt/Box1/my movies)....although I don't really need the connection to go in reverse, I set up samba and shared /home/tictoc5150/Documents...this works fine.

Now with both boxes in MDK, I tried what you said and apparently I'm doing something wrong.