The following is not true - just a figament of the imagination.

Ice escapades

This time of year is always a delight as long-buried items begin to emerge from the melting snow. Clothing, a hockey stick, some garden tools, the frostbitten toe I’ve been looking for, all are arising into the joyous warmth that is spring.

The large rectangle in the back yard grass is something new this year. It is where the ice rink was. Lovely brown isn’t it? It contrasts nicely with the lush green of the surrounding growth.

I devised a clever technique for removing the rink called “Sit Around and Let It Melt.” I’ve never built one before, so I didn’t know quite what else to do. Apparently some people take sledge hammers and bash their ice into small chunks, or ice cubes I guess, and then remove the plastic liner so their grass doesn’t die underneath. I did not know that. Further, actually doing that would involve effort, which I try to avoid at all times. Bad back you know.

My only plan was to remove the ice by the clever means of letting it drain through our fence and into the park behind us, thus giving our arid region a welcome moisture boost this spring. Due to a minor landscaping error, it turns out the back yard slopes toward the house and not towards the park, the correction of which may form the basis of future humourous anecdotes.

As a temporary measure, I was sweeping the melt water on top of the ice through the fence into the park when a bylaw enforcement officer descended upon me, and informed me that I was draining a pool into public property without a permit. When I reasonably pointed out that I was not in fact draining a pool but a skating rink, I was informed that anything deeper than two inches was considered a pool, and was therefore subject to bylaws direct control.