I just purchased the RAM below, it's a pretty decent deal:

mushkin 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

I was also looking at some OCZ but in the end went with the mushkin. I've never used mushkin RAM before, however, I have heard many good things. I do not game though and from what I read they're geared towards gamers. Anyone have an experience with mushkin? The reviews on the page look good, so I'm hoping for the best. :)

B

I tend to place a lot weight on customer reviews. I think it is a good choice.

As do I. I think I'll be recieving it tomorrow - not bad. I ordered it yesterday and it was shipped out today from New Jersey. Newegg rocks! ;)

B

looks to be good and certainly a better price than what I paid for my Corsair XMS2 4GB PC6400. I picked what I got cause it was on my list for compatible RAM and it was also the recommended memory for the board by ASUS. I paid about $120 for mine.

Edited by Honda_Boy

Well, certainly, my streak of bad luck hasn't run dry yet. :(

So I put the RAM in, PC boots, sees the RAM and everything is working fine. I go to sleep, wake up (for no reason) at 3:30AM, look at my PC and see a blue screen and I think to myself, "heh...it can't be a BSOD" I then proceed to hop out of bed and look, sure enough it is.

It was a 0X0000001A error code, I go look it up found some stuff on Windows 2000 and early releases of Vista. I'm not really too sure, I tried resetting the RAM - it didn't like that either, tried two different slots - no go. Put my old RAM back in everything has been fine.

Any ideas before I return the RAM? :(

B

Just curious could it cause by an incompatiblity with the RAM? Either with the system or the operating system (Vista Ultimate SP1 - final release) or would it most likely be bad RAM? Just odd, I mean, it booted, recognized the RAM and worked perfectly fine for a good few hours (at least while I was awake - then poof just BSOD) This happened the same night I put it in the system.

B